WKMHA Award Recipients 2021/2022

At the conclusion of each season WKMHA hosts an Award Ceremony in the month of June to recognize deserving individuals for their efforts during the season

We would like to congratulate the following Award Recipients:

Lenore Hewlett Award – This award is named after Lenore Hewlett, who ran the concession for many years alongside Bonnie Michie.  She was at the concession when Westside MHA was formed.  This award is presented for service and dedication to West Kelowna Minor Hockey.

This year the Lenore Hewlett Award is presented to Rob Weir

Ian Snow Memorial Trophy – This award is in memory of Ian Snow.  Ian was a goalie, goalie coach, teacher and a member of Westside MHA executive.  He passed away of cancer.  This award is given to the goalie who best exhibits skill and sportsmanship at the U13 Rep (Tier 2) Level

This year the Ian Snow Memorial Trophy is awarded to Reed Russell

Chad Ochitwa Award

This award is in memory of Chad Ochitwa, who passed away in a car accident on his way to a hockey game. This award is given to the best defenseman in the U13 Rep (Tier 2) Level

This year the Chad Ochitwa Award is awarded to Riley Kennedy

Jonathan Neitsch Memorial Trophy

While Jonathan’s time with us was far too short, he left a lasting mark on our community and everyone he touched.

When he was only four years old, Jon was diagnosed with cancer. After a major operation and months of treatment, he began playing hockey as a six-year old, following in the footsteps of his lifelong hero, and big brother, James.

His coaches and teammates remember Jon for his polite and caring nature. Even at a young age, he showed a level of maturity and determination well beyond his years. Jon was not the biggest or the most vocal player in the dressing room, but he grew to be the most respected. And more often than not, Jon was the “go-to-guy” when his team was down a goal.

Jonathan enjoyed life to the fullest and was cancer free until, unexpectedly, it returned when he was 13.  But that’s also when the real fighter in Jon emerged. Through all his operations and treatments, major surgery in New York and countless trips to Vancouver, Jon showed us what true courage, kindness, humility and grace are all about.

Our community united together in support of Jon and his family by hosting “Faceoff for a Friend.” On August 19, 2007, a full house watched as current and NHL stars played alongside many local junior players in the first event ever to take place in Royal LePage Place.

One of Jonathan’s proudest moments came on January 25, 2010, when he carried the Olympic torch in the 2010 Olympic Torch Relay. He later asked that the torch be shared with everyone in the community to inspire others as it did him. He also wanted everyone to know how much he and his family appreciated the thoughts, prayers and support given by so many.

Jonathan Alford Neitsch is survived by his loving parents, Alford and Margaret, and by older siblings, James and Katelyn.

This award is given to the player with the most passion and desire to succeed despite all odds, at the U15 Tier 2 Level

This year the Jonathan Neitsch Memorial Trophy is awarded to Jackson Hromadnik

Chuck Parr Memorial Trophy

Chuck played hockey as a goalie for many years in the Ottawa area and after moving to Westbank in 2001 played in numerous leagues in the Kelowna area.

He loved the game and camaraderie associated with the sport.  It is the wish of his family that the generous contributions from family and friends go towards helping young players develop and nurture their passion for hockey similar to that which Chuck enjoyed most of his life.  This trophy is now part of his legacy.  This award is given to the goalie who best exhibits skill and sportsmanship at the U15 Rep (Tier 2) Level –

This year the Chuck Parr Memorial Trophy is awarded to Delainey Walton  

Simran Sahota Memorial Trophy – This award is in memory of Simran Sahota.  Simran was a member of Westside MHA for 12 years, playing hockey, coaching and officiating.  He loved to help others, and played hockey to “have fun”.  The Simran Sahota Memorial Fund was also set up by Simran’s family, to support new players to Westside MHA requiring financial assistance.  This award is presented to the best all round defenseman at U18 Rep (Tier 2) Level –

This year the Simran Sahota Memorial Trophy is awarded to Hayden Brown


Team Awards for Most Dedicated, Most Improved and Most Sportsmanlike players from each division:

U11 Recreation:

Most Dedicated

Team #1 – Lorenzo Narinesingh

Team #2 – Dylan McCarthy

Team #3 – Sloan French

Most Improved

Team #1 – Jaxen Huot

Team #2- Deeson McEwen

Team #3 –-Emma Rayburn

Most Sportsmanlike

Team #1 – Taylor Linde

Team #2 – Sophie Heng

Team #3 – Cameron Davidson

U11 Development A:

Most Dedicated – Peyton Macphail

Most Improved – Avery Bliss

Most Sportsmanlike –Kane Ralph

U11 Development C:

Most Dedicated – Nixon Rose

Most Improved – Luke Kochhar

Most Sportsmanlike – Grayson Dhooge

U13 Recreation:

Most Dedicated

Team #1 – Colton Peterson

Team #2 – Rylund Coldwell

Team #3 – William Pettyjohn

Most Improved   

Team #1 – Declan Stillmack

Team #2 – Kiryn Lanthier

Team #3 –  Conner Vaudry

Most Sportsmanlike

Team #1 –  Jagger Simpson

Team #2 –  Caleb Walker

Team #3 – Colden Wilkinson

U13 Tier 3:

Most Dedicated –  Max Blackwood

Most Improved –  Clayton Page

Most Sportsmanlike –  Max Higginson

U13 Tier 1:

Most Dedicated – Jack Brown

Most Improved – Cameron Slater

Most Sportsmanlike – Riley Kennedy

U15 Recreation:

Most Dedicated

Team #1 – Jayden Thompson

Team #2 – Gage Matwechuk

Most Improved

Team #1 – Jesse Gregg

Team #2 – Cole Sweeney

Most Sportsmanlike

Team #1 – Logan Mclean

Team #2 – Connor Morcom

U15 Tier 3:

Most Dedicated – Taven Wudrich

Most Improved –   Cody Wilson

Most Sportsmanlike –  RJ Steele

U15 Tier 2:

Most Dedicated – Carson Tripp

Most Improved – Sean Campbell

Most Sportsmanlike – Gavin Lindberg

U18 Recreation:

Most Dedicated

Team #1 – Lucas Love

Team #2 – Carson Martens

Team #3 – Hunter Tse

Most Improved

Team #1 – Alec Wark

Team #2 – Nathan Newman

Team #3 – Hunter Dreger

Most Sportsmanlike

Team #1 – Ethan Caterino

Team #2 – Tye Flemming

Team #3 – Xander Valley Tuazon

U18 Tier 2:

Most Dedicated – Caleb McEwen

Most Improved – Tyson Zivkovic

Most Sportsmanlike – Jake Carriere

Officials Awards:

Bill Wylie Memorial – This award is in memory of Bill Wylie who passed away in a tragic car accident while returning home from officiating a Kootenay International Junior Hockey League.  Bill was the Referee in Chief for WMHA from 1999-2002.  Bill began his hockey career at the age of 5 then traded his stick in for a whistle in 1993.  Bill was passionate about his work, helped the younger officials and his ultimate goal was to officiate in the NHL.  This award is presented to the official who has shown dedication to the game of hockey, support for fellow referees & true passion for his/her position as referee –

This year the Bill Wylie Memorial Trophy is awarded to Brent Glazebrook 

Most Promising Official – Awarded to the official who demonstrates a willingness to learn and improve the skills of an official and who shows poise and control under pressure – Jaxson Pollon

Most Improved Official – Awarded to the official who demonstrates an overall improvement over last year in positioning, signals, skating ability, penalty call selection and judgment – Carter Sharun


 Rep Coach of the Year

Ryan Coghlan- U18 Tier 2 Head Coach

Recreation Coach of the Year

Matt Lanthier- U13 Recreation Team 2 Head Coach

U7/U9 Coach of the Year

Cam Humphrey- U9 Team 1 Head Coach